information read the Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140
(sections 121-131), Chapter 269 (sections 10-12) and Chapter 180 of
the Acts of 1998 that apply to firearms.
for more on firearms laws.
Renewal Date Information
LICENSE TO CARRY FIREARMS
All License To Carry Firearms will expire on
the expiration date currently listed on the license.
FIREARMS IDENTIFICATION CARDS
If your current FID card does not have a
fingerprint or photo of you on it, then it is expired. New
changes to the firearms laws require all FID cardholders to renew their
Expired cardholders caught
carrying a weapon can be subject to a fine up to $5000 and/or arrest.
Renewal of an Expired LTC
If an applicant submits an application to renew a LTC that has
expired by more than ninety (90) days, the rules and conditions
governing the issuance of a new LTC will be used to evaluate the
application. IMPORTANT: Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws,
Chapter 140 section 131M, any person in possession of a firearm, rifle
or shotgun whose license is invalid for the sole reason that it has
expired, but who shall not be disqualified from renewal upon application
shall be subject to a civil fine of not less than $500 nor more than
$5,000. There is no grace period for expired licenses!
Certificate of Completion of a Safety Course
Each new applicant for a LTC or FID Card (except an applicant for an
FID to carry mace or other chemical propellant ONLY) must successfully
complete a safety course certified by the Department of State Police or
in the case of an FID Card a course of instruction in the safe handling
of firearms administered by the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. The
instructor must be certified by the Department of State Police to teach
the approved course. Additionally, applicants for a LTC may be required
to complete a proficiency course, depending on the applicant’s prior
experience in the handling of firearms. A current list of courses that
qualify are listed here.
All applicants for a LTC or a FID must provide proof of residency or
ownership of a business in the Town of Aquinnah.
Still have questions about the Massachusetts Firearms
If you still have questions regarding the laws
governing firearms possession, handling, transportation and licensing,
you can email the police department at
with your question, or you can call the police station directly at
508-645-2313. If no one is in the station, leave your question on the
machine and someone will respond in a timely fashion. In addition, you
can read the sections of Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140
(sections 121-131) and Chapter 269 (sections 10-12) and Chapter 180 of
the Acts of 1998 that apply to firearms right here online by visiting
Massachusetts General Laws